2013 Awards Ceremonies

The Air Force Historical Foundation presented its highest honors during a pair of ceremonies held November 13, recognizing four individuals and one Air Force unit for their significant contributions to the making or recording of air power history.

These events, held at the Air Force Memorial and Army Navy Country Club in Arlington, Virginia, were made even more special with an insightful keynote address from Lt. Gen. Stephen L. Hoog (USAF), who is the Assistant Vice Chief of Staff and Director, Air Staff, Headquarters U.S. Air Force, Washington, D.C.

The photo report below showcases some of the event’s highlights (click on each image for a larger version):

Personnel from the 720th Special Tactics Group, which is the most highly decorated unit in the Air Force, receive the Foundation’s James H. “Jimmy” Doolittle Award – which recognizes a unit that has displayed bravery, determination, discipline, esprit de corp, and superior management of joint operations while accomplishing its mission under extremely difficult and hazardous conditions in multiple conflicts. The award was presented by Jonna Doolittle Hoppes (center), granddaughter of the namesake aviation pioneer.
After presentation of the James H. “Jimmy” Doolittle Award, air power contributions of the special tactics community – including the 720th Special Tactics Group – were further underscored by Col. Robert Armfield (USAF), Commander, 24th Special Operations Wing (24 SOW), Air Force Special Operations Command, Hurlburt Field, Florida.
The awards ceremonies’ keynote address was delivered by Lt. Gen. Stephen L. Hoog, who is the Assistant Vice Chief of Staff and Director, Air Staff, Headquarters U.S. Air Force, Washington, D.C. His speech focused on aviation pioneers like James H. “Jimmy” Doolittle and how the “air warriors” of today are carrying on their legacy.
Col. Darrel Whitcomb (USAFR Ret.) (right center) is honored with the “Best Air Power History Article of 2012” award for his story “Flying the First Mission of Desert Storm.” Presenting the award are (from left to right): Lt. Gen. Burton M. Field (USAF); Foundation President Maj. Gen. Dale Meyerrose (USAF Ret.); and Lt. Gen. Hoog.
The Foundation’s “Best Air Power History Book Reviewed of 2012” award was given to R. Cargill Hall for “Five Down, No Glory: Frank G. Tinker, Mercenary Ace in the Spanish Civil War.” Co-authored by Richard K. Smith, this book tells the story of Frank Tinker, who went on to become the top American ace flying under contract with the Spanish Republican Air Force in the Spanish Civil War.
Jacob “Jack” Neufeld (right center) receives the Foundation’s Major General I. B. Holley Award, which recognizes a sustained, significant contribution to the research, interpretation and documentation of Air Force history during a lifetime of service. Neufeld is the author, co-author and editor for dozens of comprehensive Air Force histories, as well as the Editor of Air Power History – the Foundation’s official publication.
Gen. John A. Shaud (USAF Ret.), whose distinguished military career spans the Cold War Period to the modern Gulf conflicts, speaks to the standing-room-only crowd after receiving the Foundation’s prestigious General Carl A. “Tooey” Spaatz Award for significant contributions to the making of Air Force history.

You may also like...